Concepts of Patanjali Yog Sutras-Fundamentals of YOG.(image credit-Image



I want to know God’s thought ……..the rest are details.
– Albert Einstein
Western world came to know about Indian Yoga, yogis and great saints when British journalist Paul Brunton for the first time published his book “In quest of secret india”, where he meet many Indian yogis and great saint and have taken deep interest in Indian yoga philosophy. From that onwards many country of the world have started in-depth medical and scientific research in this field and published and documented various advantages of yoga for human health.
Today many people join yoga and meditation classes but they don’t get results. Many coaching classes are mushroom up during vacations and holidays. They don’t get peace of mind and feel relaxed after attending such sessions. Then they switch over to other classes and teachers and finally they don’t get satisfactory result. What happen ultimately on long run is that people lose confidence and faith in this system of yoga philosophy.



The main and strong reason for failure in meditation is that people don’t follow basic steps of Patangali yog sutra. According to Patangali yog sutra “Meditation” is step No. 7 in yoga philosophy. When school boy of seventh standard cannot be taught calculus of twelth class. In the same way new comer in yoga philosophy cannot be directly taught meditation. Those who want systemic progress in yoga science must begin their journey from fundamental steps of Yam, Niyam, Asan,Pranayam, Pratayahar,Dharana, Dhayan and finally samadhi. Now I will try to explain each step with its meaning in details.

images (34)


A man is bundle of thought and these thought are reflected in his behavior, attitude, personality and how he treat other human beings especially his subordinates. The concept of Yog sutra is to move from journey of outer materialistic world to inner world of silence and piece. It’s basically journey from consciouness to superconsciouness.Its basically travelling from thoughtfulness to thoughtless and increasing self -awareness.
The mind is collection of thoughts. So as long as thought exist, the mind exist. But when the thought stop, the mind dissolves.Patanjali described this state as state of super-consciouness. What remains is pure consciouness without any disturbance, activity, or impurity. This cannot be understood by the mind because it is a state beyond the mind. It is the goal of all yoga practice, and it is the final goal of life.
For purification of mind, body and soul the Indian great sage Patanjali advocated 8 steps for reaching from consciousness to superconsciounes.Application of these fundamentals is most essential in life for the one who wants to progress in yoga. These 8 limbs of the yoga are also known as Astanga Yoga.
1. YAM

We will try to understand the meaning of each steps of patangali yog sutra.
1.YAM (RESTRAINTS) -The meaning of yam in vernacular language is “ Nigahra”.In English difficult to find exact word but word near to it is “RESTRAINTS”.There are 5 types of YAM and they are
1. Aahinshya-The absolute meaning of this is “Non-violence”. Its means that we should not harm others by means of our mind (thought), Speech and our Actions (karma). when you study the life history of Indian yogis, you will notice one specific features in their worship was that many times they encountered many wild animals like lion, snake etc during their Sadhana*( spiritual practice of meditation in jungle) in the forest or jungle. But none of the wild animals have ever targeted these saints in their journey to eternal piece. Patanjali in his yoga sutra clearly mentioned that “The Yogi who completely Practice Non-violence in their life have developed such characteristics and features that persons, animals who are having adverse nature become non-violent and cooperative.” e.g. Many Indian sages, saints and yogis were many times encountered by snakes and lion during meditation; but none of wild animals have ever harm them.
2. Satya- (truthfulness) (The power of Truth)
3. Asteya- (Non-stealing)
4. Brahamcharya- (continence) (Practice of Celibacy) lit. “Walking the path of the God”; control of sexual passion; control of vital energy; preservation of vital fluid.
5. Aparigraha- ( Non-possessiveness, on-greed, on-hoarding)

2. NIYAM- (OBSERVANCES) -There is 5 Niyams
1. Socch- purity of action, speech, mind
2. Santosh- (self-satisfaction)
3. Tap- Austerity, discipline
4. Swadhaya- self study, study of scriptures
5. Ishvara pranidhana -surrender to GOD, one of the methods of kriya yog, a method to attain Samadhi)






8. SAMADHI (SUPERCONSCIOUNESS)-super-consciouness, super-conscious absorption; trance
Some of the important key notes
• Today to pay deep tribute and for eternal remembrance of Great sage Maharshi Patanjali world is celebrating “international YOGA day on 21 June” to make aware the people regarding the importance of yoga in day to day life and stress management.

images (35).jpg


• The most difficult and challenging part of yoga philosophy is that it is difficult and next to impossible task to get an experienced siddh yogi to guide you on this path because once the serpent energy (kundalini shakti) becomes awakened it must be channelized upward to all chakras in proper direction. Although difficult to get real guru but still they are there for true and dedicated followers or discipline.
• The Real siddh yogis and masters of yoga never highlight themselves. They work silently and most of the time they are away from public and publicity and don’t have any personal and professional aspirations and don’t work for commercial gains.
• To keep body healthy and for spiritual upliftment, yoga has a marvelous and powerful role, so start learning and practicing Yoga under the guidance of experienced yogi.
 My friend bye for now, see you in next blog, Thanks for reading the blog and sparing your precious time. Do give your comments and share this information with other friends.
 Also available on following page on Face book.
 Follow me on twitter
Dr Prakashchandra k (@drPrakashchan12)

The entries and images posted on this site are purely with the intention of sharing personal interest in Science, Spirituality, Yoga, inspirational thinking and Meditation (Dhyan) without any intention of direct or indirect commercial gain or harm the sentiments of any person, place, any community or organization. If any of the posts are causing infringement of copyrights, it is purely unintentional and such posts would be discarded with immediate effect, as soon as they brought to notice of the Administrator.Contact-drpc1997@gmail

10 replies to “Concepts of Patanjali Yog Sutras-Fundamentals of YOG.(image credit-Image

  1. Great insights. Thank you for your post. Another way to make meditation effective is to bring reverence and devotion to the practice. Devotion is not something that can be taught. Devotion is light a fire that is lit within the seeker by being in the company of other seekers who are also in devotion. Many blessings to you on your journey.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this:
close-alt close collapse comment ellipsis expand gallery heart lock menu next pinned previous reply search share star